The Beauty of Friendship and Books

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

Over the last two years, I’ve had the opportunity to work in some archives in Salt Lake City on a women’s history project. This internship has resulted in some interesting research projects for me on women, technical communication, and communication design. My formal assignment is to do research for a team of women working on a book of women’s discourses from 1820 to present.  I work on the first half of the book, which covers 1820 to 1920.

I consider the most valuable aspect of this opportunity to be the friendships and associations I have developed through my time there.  I get to rub shoulders with highly educated women who have encouraged and guided me on learning historical research. While my time there is occasionally overwhelming because of everything else I am doing right now, I think of it as a precious way to gain an education in history and research…

View original post 246 more words

Leave a Reply

